The Power Of Three: Three Months
2002-10-29

three months, eh? since that inspired repartee with a former co-worker who posited how much better my life would be three months on. i joked that three weeks was more like it and he countered with what about three days? and so, i've tracked my progress.

three days.

three weeks.

three months.

settling in. shielding myself from the bright lights, beginning to explore the cracks and crevices, where what's happening is happening. the life i began when i arrived here is fading. with each passing day, harder and harder to make out shapes, forms, places becoming indistinct. as if filmed through cheesecloth like cybill shepard on moonlighting. familiar ground shifting in content and context, reclaimed and reconstituted. quandries made moot, only to find me nonplussed.

in chicago, i was asked, "why did you move HERE?" in new york, i asked myself, "why did *I* move here?" i thought i knew. but with each passing day, the answers changed and the question became beside the point. the whys and wherefores swept away by the hows and whereabouts.

happy here is what i am. perplexed yet intrigued. stifled yet invigorated. lonely yet thriving. content with the crux. a juxtaposition that has begun to fuel action across the spectrum of creative pursuits. heavens, i've even waxed lyrical about it in this forum.

something this way comes. just outside my grasp. well, i suppose i needed a good stretch.

-finn

Previously:
Shiny Happy Person (or Something Like That) - 2005-08-19
Having Trouble Saying What I Mean With Dead Poets and a Drum Machine - 2005-08-14
Let's Rock! - 2005-07-27
Knock Me Right Off My Feet - 2005-07-22
Play or You'll Never Know - 2005-07-14