Scattershot
2002-09-09

i sure have been rather chatty today, haven't i? i've been thinking that, with all this time on my hands, there are a slew of little projects and such that i would like to be working on, especially writing more, as i been receiving heaps and heaps on external stimuli in the last few weeks, that really have my brain all revved up. still, i seem to be so fixated on my lack of employment and my search for such that i can't seem to calm down enough to focus on any one thing. when i do settle down, i have tended to turn my entire brain off and passively consume the activities of others, such as hours and hours of final fantasy.

i've been reading, even the newspaper more recently, after an inexplicable inability to process anything that was going on in the world. but it seems that we will be going to war, in a fortutiously-timed for the party in power manner, exploiting our unresolved feelings after this week's 9/11 anniversary and slyly undercutting any reasoned debate in the run-up to november's midterm elections. convenient, ain't it? yes, i AM that cynical about our current state of affairs.

in contrast, my little slice of the world is going rather swimmingly, all things considered. i am happier now than i have been in quite sometime. you might even call me content. how's that for a shocker. i realized last week that it would take me at least a year to visit all of the shops, stores, bars, clubs, restaurants, cafes, delis, and other establishments within a ten-block radius of my new digs. every new block is a revelation. i've spent hours just wandering aimlessly around the neighborhood, taking it in. i'm not sure if i look more like a tourist or a nutcase. in fact, recently, i've begun to feel very conspicuous as a californian. maybe it's the color in my wardrobe or the way i carry myself. i'm not sure but i feel it and it ain't a bad thing. just that there are scads of things that are just SO new york that i'm not, or at least, not YET.

-finn

Previously:
Shiny Happy Person (or Something Like That) - 2005-08-19
Having Trouble Saying What I Mean With Dead Poets and a Drum Machine - 2005-08-14
Let's Rock! - 2005-07-27
Knock Me Right Off My Feet - 2005-07-22
Play or You'll Never Know - 2005-07-14