Mixtape Meltdown
2005-01-13

so, i've been reconsidering 2004. this has been done primarily through revisiting this spin around the sun musically in preparation for my year end compilation. music is a powerful trigger for me, as it is, but given my yearlong sabattical from the working world, much of the tuneage acquired last year evokes memories of high-flying jetsetting and the lonely stretches between, passionate optimism contradicted by crippling self-doubt. but then, what's new, right? obviously, i had ample time on my hands to analyze (ok, over-anaylze) my world and my place in it. and now, taking stock of that overanalysis, i can't decide to give myself a break about it or excoriate myself for it.

in the short term, i'm still not working. i'm still not motivated to find a job. i'm still in a financial place not to worry about either very seriously. i've made significant decisions about my middle-term (graduate school in the UK), but little to no progress to attaining that goal. having this middle-term goal, which would require me to relocate in september or thereabouts, seriously impinges my desire to resolve the short-term employment issue. longer term decisions about living and working in the UK or elsewhere in europe after graduation rely upon short-term action to reach the middle-term goal.

of course, being overwhelmed in the here and now negatively impacting the there and then isn't a new thing for me. just gotta break it down into digestible bites. the worst part is KNOWING what i have to, need to do and still not being bothered to do it. i just can't be asked. have i become that complacent? or have i always been this, as my mother calls it, lackadaisical?

well, no worries. the mix is coming right along. giving myself some space from the late year hits to clear my head about what really needs to be heard. trying to avoid that perennial oscar nod dilemma where february showcases get forgotten amid the year-end prestige turds. also, giving some neglected discs a few extra spins to uncover the nuggets within. all should be well by next month. stay alert.

-finn

Previously:
Shiny Happy Person (or Something Like That) - 2005-08-19
Having Trouble Saying What I Mean With Dead Poets and a Drum Machine - 2005-08-14
Let's Rock! - 2005-07-27
Knock Me Right Off My Feet - 2005-07-22
Play or You'll Never Know - 2005-07-14