Can't Win For Losing
2002-09-05

ok, so i've been going round and round with this job opportunity since last thursday. as this process was moving rather quickly (which is a rarity), i was making frantic calls to references, etc, prodding folks into returning calls, etc in order to move this puppy along. all to the good and in spite of the recruiter's doom and gloom about my chances of getting an interview with the company (not enough years of experience, not the right industry experience, not enough experience with the right tools, too long out of the industry), by late yesterday, it appeared that the hiring manager had reviewed my resume and wanted to meet with me to discuss. foot in proverbial door. the recruiter inquired as to whether i had applied directly to this company, to which i replied that i didn't think so, though i had sent quite a few emails in the last several weeks and couldn't be certain. i do save a copy of most submissions, but have been lax recently as responses have dwindled.

this morning, i receive a rather unpleasant call from the recruiter informing me that the company's hr dept already has my resume on file. she asked again whether i had applied directly. i answered that clearly i must have, though i don't remember specifically. i did not find a copy in my sent messages, though again i have been lax in this area for the last week or so. she informs me that they will probably not be able to move forward with me as a candidate due to this double submission and that it is possible though not likely that their corporate hr will contact me directly. now that my name appears to be mud at both places, i'm leaning toward not likely. of course, she is just pissed regarding the commission she would have scored and that is certainly legitimate but if consultancies and companies are posting for the same position on the same job boards, how can one be expected to avoid this situation? ugh.

on a related note, my experience with temp agencies has been less than stellar. not a single one will schedule an appointment with you over the phone. i have been asked to submit my resume via email numerous times with no response, though i have clearly stated my situation and interests on the phone and in a concise cover letter. who do you have to fuck to get a temp job in this city, for christ's sake?

-finn

Previously:
Shiny Happy Person (or Something Like That) - 2005-08-19
Having Trouble Saying What I Mean With Dead Poets and a Drum Machine - 2005-08-14
Let's Rock! - 2005-07-27
Knock Me Right Off My Feet - 2005-07-22
Play or You'll Never Know - 2005-07-14