For Every Time I Feel Lame, I'm Looking Up
2002-10-11

oh how i love to hear "this is a brooklyn bridge bound 6 train". brooklyn bridge bound. as in, THE brooklyn bridge, in new york city, where i live. 6 train, as in the lexington ave local, from where i work, at my job, in new york city, where i live. stopping at bleeker st, where i can transfer to the f train, bringing me another stop closer to home, my apartment, in new york city, WHERE I LIVE. so, as of yesterday, i've been in new york two months. and by all rights, i should be wicked hung over, after throwing back mucho cocktails all over the east village with the best friend and my favorite person from the midwest who is in town for three weeks, and crawling into bed (or what passes for one these days) at 3am. it wasn't quite a bar crawl, as we only made two stops, but a fine time was had by all and in true leo fashion, i held some court. well, somebody had to do it and as i, typically, occupy the "julie, your cruise director" (pun intended) position, all was well in our little world.

that sheryl crow song is now becoming quite the hysterical in-joke with my in-crowd. when it came on the juke box last night (it is unclear whether someone i know played it on purpose or whether it was continued random coincidence), i grimaced, my friends began to cackle, i asserted that i was in hell and then began to sing along in full voice. if you can't beat her, join her. and anyways, she has inspired my new approach in new york gay culture, "i'm gonna tell everyone to lighten up"!

-finn

Previously:
Shiny Happy Person (or Something Like That) - 2005-08-19
Having Trouble Saying What I Mean With Dead Poets and a Drum Machine - 2005-08-14
Let's Rock! - 2005-07-27
Knock Me Right Off My Feet - 2005-07-22
Play or You'll Never Know - 2005-07-14