Kt-QB4
2003-01-15

here we are, facing off, suited up,
don't even question why.
there we stand, nothing's changed, still a draw,
just like all those other times.
i call your bluff, stepping out, daring you,
i've got my heart to prove.
just you wait, pay close attention,
i'm ready to make my move.

shadows of stalemates before,
echoes of battles unscored,
is it a ruse or something more?
knight to queen's bishop four.

three squares over, just one toward you,
dispensed with all of that chicanery.
eyes dart suspiciously, as if on cue,
thrown down the gauntlet, now just capture me.
three steps forward, just to step aside,
betraying all my cunning strategy.
i'm risking everything, left open wide,
our future is no longer up to me.

phantoms of chances galore,
tracings of unopened doors,
it's not a ruse, but something so much more.
knight to queen's bishop four.

three squares over, just one toward you,
dispensed with all of that chicanery.
eyes dart suspiciously, as if on cue,
thrown down the gauntlet, now just capture me.
three steps forward, just to step aside,
betraying all my cunning strategy.
i'm risking everything, left open wide,
our future is no longer up to me...

it's up to you...
it's up to you...
it's up to you...

-finn

Previously:
Shiny Happy Person (or Something Like That) - 2005-08-19
Having Trouble Saying What I Mean With Dead Poets and a Drum Machine - 2005-08-14
Let's Rock! - 2005-07-27
Knock Me Right Off My Feet - 2005-07-22
Play or You'll Never Know - 2005-07-14