I Wish Joyce Hadn't Died Because She Was Nice And Now We're All Sad
2003-03-11

i've spent my entire life trying to say the right thing, do the right thing, be what other people expect of me. happy go lucky, sunny, supportive, non-confrontational, accepting. sometimes i get so wrapped up in other's expectations of me that i lose myself altogether. forget to give myself permission to live against type, to be angry, frustrated, hurt, sad. the smile i fake. how well i know it.

a month ago yesterday, i was ambling about in prospect park with snow gently falling all around me, scarcely a care in the world. i had work, albeit low-paying counter work, that left me feeling satisfied and connected. i had romance, a rather unexpected turn of events following new year's celebrations. i found myself crying, from hope and promise.

yesterday, i was curled up in a ball watching buffy. granted, it was 'the body', probably the most painful, gut-wrenching hour of television ever produced. the work is gone, a victim of the sour economy and sky-high rents, replaced by a 9-5 office gig that requires sustained effort to keep myself turned off all day, leaving me feeling dissatisfied and disconnected. the romance is gone, replaced by genuine yet tentative stabs at salvaging the underlying friendship. i found myself sobbing, in disappointment.

it's not like i haven't been in this place before in the last eighteen months. frightened, desperate, unhinged, convinced that i've ruined my life. what i AM doing is hanging on. and changing my focus. to me. saying this feels awkward, self-indulgent. no more taking responsibility for other people's feelings. no more modulating myself to suit the needs, wishes, desires of others. no more making excuses for the actions or inactions of others.

it might be a tad messy. i'm certain to make some mistakes, say the wrong thing, upset sensibilities. but i'll say what i mean and mean what i say. and i'll know that you understand when i'm not met with anger or fear or indignance but two simple words: thank you.

-finn

Previously:
Shiny Happy Person (or Something Like That) - 2005-08-19
Having Trouble Saying What I Mean With Dead Poets and a Drum Machine - 2005-08-14
Let's Rock! - 2005-07-27
Knock Me Right Off My Feet - 2005-07-22
Play or You'll Never Know - 2005-07-14