OH MY GAWD!
2002-09-20

ok, so it was bound to happen eventually. something about new york is driving me crazy. just right now, mind you. most of the time, i don't even notice it. in fact, it is the sort of thing that is such a constant that it takes something like a foul mood or a pounding headache or both to put such a fine point on it.

this city never shuts the fuck up.

in fact, the folks who live on ful's block out here in brooklyn are on about something, in full voice, at ALL times. well, not exactly ALL times, but consistently enough for it to have become an in-house joke. in this house. the house, that notwithstanding my own digs in manhattan, has continued to be my refuge from the threefold vagaries of unemployment, lack of internet access and no television. and for this, i am immensely indebted and forever grateful.

so even though, sometimes the craziness of the city gets to me, new york and an incredible cadre of its denizens have welcomed me with open arms. and that, my friends, makes every damn screech, yell, shout, car alarm, police siren and ice cream truck worth it.

-finn

Previously:
Shiny Happy Person (or Something Like That) - 2005-08-19
Having Trouble Saying What I Mean With Dead Poets and a Drum Machine - 2005-08-14
Let's Rock! - 2005-07-27
Knock Me Right Off My Feet - 2005-07-22
Play or You'll Never Know - 2005-07-14