Papa's Got A Brand New Beau
2003-01-15

i've been trying to figure out how to describe my current situation in my signature style. but, i think i've run out of wry. never has my life been this objectively desperate. i've managed to continue to keep my wits about me and face each day (colder and colder, damn winter) with a determined smile.

this afternoon, i will be trudging about in the neighborhood searching for help wanted signs. in my privileged, protected mind, this is the lowest i've ever fallen. i was convinced that i could temp in new york city, but temping is as competitive as anything else these days. i've never needed a plan c before. i'm figuring it out but this is the sort of shit you learn at 22, not 32. just goes to show you how lucky i've been up to now.

on the other hand, romance rides again in the land of finn. i've a sneaking suspicion that these quite unexpected developments have softened the other blows in my life these days. happy new year indeed.

-finn

Previously:
Shiny Happy Person (or Something Like That) - 2005-08-19
Having Trouble Saying What I Mean With Dead Poets and a Drum Machine - 2005-08-14
Let's Rock! - 2005-07-27
Knock Me Right Off My Feet - 2005-07-22
Play or You'll Never Know - 2005-07-14