Access
2002-10-05

many apologies to the loyal for my lack of entries as of late. my access has been rather spotty since i gave ful and company their house back. on monday, i will begin my part-time job in earnest. i'm doing some admin support (read man friday) for this phenomenal woman who runs a design company. poor thing has been working weekend consistently since april, so i'm giving her a much needed break. loving the office, the folks, the location, and the brand new imac i'm working on. who knows? it just might evolve into something. like my new boss says, let's walk before we run. good advice that, especially given that i hit the ground running in every aspect of my life upon my arrival in new york. maybe it is time to slow down and do some walking.

funny story. wednesday night after the previously mentioned music fest, i was trundling down avenue a with a friend, when i hear my name. i keep walking until i hear it again. turn around to a friend of mine from college who i haven't seen in at least three years who lives in san francisco. he was in town for the week. we did some catching up and then went back to our separate lives. but it was strange to have the first person i run into that i know in this city be someone who i know from so far away in time and space. well, maybe not that funny of a story.

oh yeah, and then there was the time that i almost broke my big toe last week and couldn't really walk for days and had to get to a temp agency in dress shoes the next day in midtown and got hassled by this older lady with a cane who instructed me to keep off my feet while i was young, or else i'd end up like her.

i have discovered, in my wanders, a cafe just a few blocks up the street with fantastic cheap coffee, a cushy comfortable vibe AND free high-speed internet access. so, i'm sure you'll be hearing significantly more for me soon.

-finn

Previously:
Shiny Happy Person (or Something Like That) - 2005-08-19
Having Trouble Saying What I Mean With Dead Poets and a Drum Machine - 2005-08-14
Let's Rock! - 2005-07-27
Knock Me Right Off My Feet - 2005-07-22
Play or You'll Never Know - 2005-07-14