Of The Way She Used To Be
2002-07-19

the closest thing that i have to a close friend here in chicago recently said, "you know, i often wonder what knowing you when things are normal would be like." strange thought, that. things haven't been "normal" for as long as i've known this person, and the understanding that he has not had the opportunity to know the "real" me was encouraging and yet somewhat unsettling. and it got me to thinking about "when things are normal", my once and future life.

fortunately, one of my oldest and dearest friends is coming to town from san francisco this weekend. to say i'm excited would be a significant understatement. except for my quick weekend hop to san francisco in march, we haven't seen each other in over a year. spending an entire weekend with someone who knew me "when things were normal" happens to be EXACTLY what i need right now. funny how life works out sometimes. oh yeah, and he's here for my birthday. that's right, this big bad leo's got an "anniversaire" coming up next wednesday. certainly looking forward to putting this stinker of a whirl around the sun behind me.

oh, and by the way, quitting my job was as satisfying as i imagined, though, i refrained from a "take this job and shove it" approach. bad juju and who needs more of that? besides, as my resolve strengthened to bid adieu, my anger and frustration subsided into pity. this pathetic job is all this woman has. so, if she needs to bully someone about to prove how big her balls are, well, why the hell not? that someone just doesn't need to be me though. i don't mind BEING a wage slave, but i do mind being TREATED like a wage slave. ok, hello?

-finn

Previously:
Shiny Happy Person (or Something Like That) - 2005-08-19
Having Trouble Saying What I Mean With Dead Poets and a Drum Machine - 2005-08-14
Let's Rock! - 2005-07-27
Knock Me Right Off My Feet - 2005-07-22
Play or You'll Never Know - 2005-07-14