Overload
2002-05-25

for absolutely no discernable reason, i am currently obsesssed with an 18 month old uk r'n'b pop record released by a group that has already evolved into a new incarnation by replacing one of the original members. well, there probably is a reason, or two, or three. since the sugababes took "freak like me" to number one in the u.k., i've been itching to check out the back catalogue, such as it is. and besides, my best friend has been going on about them for at least a year, and as he is no fan of the brit girl groups, i should have taken notice. plus, i caught a snippet of the song i'm blathering about this week on nme radio, which has become my work day background noise.

with the house to myself (my roomie is out of town for the weekend and my ex-roomie doesn't arrive for the weekend until this afternoon), i wiled away the evening hours catching up on the music i've been itching to scratch on the internet.

you sing, no, YOU SING!

Strange fear I ain't felt for years
The boy's coming and I'm close to tears
I can't let go of you now
Imagination's playing round for free
In my world I take him out for tea
Oh my God, can't say no
Skipping school, go walk for air
I just had to get out of bed
I'm on overload in my head

Train comes I don't know its destination
It's a one-way ticket to a madman's situation
Train comes I don't know its destination
It's a one-way ticket to a madman's situation

Life is a dream, time does come true
And in my sleep I think of you
Feather bed by myself
Basically probability
Says that fate's come side with me
It's been so long on my shelf

Train comes I don't know its destination
It's a one-way ticket to a madman's situation
Train comes I don't know its destination
It's a one-way ticket to a madman's situation

The tension is incredible, boy I'm in charge
You know how I feel for you,
Will you stop, or will you just keep going
Please don't say no, no, no, no

Train comes I don't know its destination
It's a one-way ticket to a madman's situation
Train comes I don't know its destination
It's a one-way ticket to a madman's situation

not only is overload's radio edit from september 2000 phenomenal, it has also been mashed-up with eminem's stan for another poptastic treat!

-finn


Previously:
Shiny Happy Person (or Something Like That) - 2005-08-19
Having Trouble Saying What I Mean With Dead Poets and a Drum Machine - 2005-08-14
Let's Rock! - 2005-07-27
Knock Me Right Off My Feet - 2005-07-22
Play or You'll Never Know - 2005-07-14