Ain't We Lucky We Got 'Em
2002-05-06

good times, that is.

in past diaries, journals, etc, i have tended to ramble on and on when things were dire and taper off when things normalize. rereading an old journal involves reliving heartbreak, disappoinment, loss and grief. few of the kick-ass episodes in my life are chronicled.

as i began this diary, i viewed it less as an exercise in working out my shit and more of an exercise in staying connected. to myself, to my friends, to my life. writing about whatever came to mind. of course, plenty of life drama has been covered here, but i found myself consistently writing for the sake of writing. Not to address issues, or exorcise demons, or talk myself through things, but simply to express myself through the written word.

with a new job and a new apartment under my belt, i've been feeling my impulse to chronicle waning. i worried that, as before, my diary would become my "not-so-fairweather friend". as i begin to establish a routine, for the first time in almost a year, i reaffirm my commitment to myself to keep writing. to change my mindset. to associate written expression with not just sorrow, but joy; not just sadness, but glee; not just confusion, but clarity; not just crisis, but freedom.

-finn

Previously:
Shiny Happy Person (or Something Like That) - 2005-08-19
Having Trouble Saying What I Mean With Dead Poets and a Drum Machine - 2005-08-14
Let's Rock! - 2005-07-27
Knock Me Right Off My Feet - 2005-07-22
Play or You'll Never Know - 2005-07-14