Fiddy
2002-04-25

this is my fiftieth entry here on diaryland. in a year without many significant milestones, this one makes me proud. and speaking of milestones, this friday marks one year with the boyfriend. cards and gifts are not necessary, but are definitely encouraged.

this is my ninth day at my new job. my boss is out today and tomorrow, leaving me alone to wreak all kinds of havoc. i guess i should take this as a vote of confidence.

spring is here. officially. not because it's a sunny, breezy 60 outside. not because i noticed the trees coming back to life. not even because, as i overheard on the train, the cubs are in last place (this is not something i can verify as, even though i live a stone's throw from wrigley field, baseball interests me not a whit). but because yesterday, i saw a man in a bunny suit playing basketball. chris postulated that i had witnessed the filming of gummo 2, though i swear there weren't any cameras. i kept an eye out for him today, but alas, no luck.

remember that damn moby song i slagged a while back? now, it's stuck in my head. figures.

remember the teen aliens i slagged a while back? well, roswell came roaring back to life on tuesday. hell, they even brought back the special unit. royal successions, secrets betrayed, and tons of gratuitous powers-using. max even blew out a window, shattering glass into michael's face to emerge victorious in their battle over the glowing dots-in-a-V that marks the rightful king. figures.

i've had one of those pocahontas dollars in my coin purse (being queer allows for the flexibility to carry a purse, even if it is only for coins) for weeks now. when you buy stamps at the post office from the machines, you get those hyped golden dollars as change. i remember in the late 80's when the san diego zoo would give $2 bills as change. well, i woke up with an appetite this morning, which is exceptionally rare and since i was daydreaming, i forgot to get off the train at the stop closest to the atm and instead got off at the stop closest to the mcdonalds, where i was planning to purchase one of those bagel meals. yum. i had only three dollar bills, you see and have been unwilling to spend my dollar coin. i'm not sure why since i already have one in a box with my bicentennial half dollar, all my european change (guilders, francs, etc), wheat pennies and my souvenir coin from the winchester mystery house in san jose. long story long, i coughed up the papoose.

being released from the burden of hoarding this "rare" coin was bittersweet. i remember eagerly anticipating the introduction of the dollar coin. currency reform excites me. unlike the larger denominations, there has never been a plan to revamp the dollar bill, leading me to hope that the lowliest of denominations would be phased out in favor of a coin. alas, the abject failure of sacajawea certainly seems to put off that prospect for the time being. but, i would go even farther. australia phased out the penny, several years ago, forcing goods to be priced in 5 cent increments. of course, a national sales tax made this fairly simple to implement. with our patchwork of state and local taxes on sales, such a plan would be a logistical nightmare, but i can dream. for now, leave me to curse the 14 pennies taking up valuable space in my coin purse.

-finn

Previously:
Shiny Happy Person (or Something Like That) - 2005-08-19
Having Trouble Saying What I Mean With Dead Poets and a Drum Machine - 2005-08-14
Let's Rock! - 2005-07-27
Knock Me Right Off My Feet - 2005-07-22
Play or You'll Never Know - 2005-07-14