Going To California In My Mind
2002-03-08

When I woke up this morning, it was already 50 degrees. AHHHHH. I wore a light jacket over a light sweater. I feel alive today. I don't mind the rain. I don't mind the wind. spring can come for good whenever it wants to. I'm ready to thaw out.

have you ever experienced that person who gets on the train and then tries to make eye contact with every single seated passenger in some sort of wicked attempt to coerce you into offering your seat, as if your seat were their god-given right? not glancing idly about to assess whether there are any EMPTY seats, but specifically targeting each and every one of you with a hungry stare piercing into your eternal soul. creepy, desperate, dangerous.

this observation after morning tv hour with buffy, the much anticipated nuptials episode. i found it sadly comforting that the humans were portrayed as cruel side-shows freaks, while the demons were sympathetic and mulitdimensional (no pun intended). La Covetous on the train, a shining example of just how selfish, suspicious and subhuman we can be and often are to one another.

My first trip back to san francisco since i moved out here last june looms on the horizon. Next weekend. I am very excited, my choice of "looms", which makes it sound ominous, notwithstanding. if we just laid around in someone's living room all weekend and shot the shit, i would be satisfied. just the privilege of being proximate with my closest pals for a few days is enough (though i wouldn't sniff at a sunday afternoon at the endup). they say that march comes in like a lion. early march 2001, i was grappling with the decision to cart my ass out here to the midwest. exactly, one year later, redux on the relocation front. details as they become available.

-huck

Previously:
Shiny Happy Person (or Something Like That) - 2005-08-19
Having Trouble Saying What I Mean With Dead Poets and a Drum Machine - 2005-08-14
Let's Rock! - 2005-07-27
Knock Me Right Off My Feet - 2005-07-22
Play or You'll Never Know - 2005-07-14