Back to Basics
2005-03-21

the shapeshifters are back. now, of course, anything will pale in comparison to last summer's genius anthem "lola's theme." and not a whit of criticism has addressed their newest endeavour on its own merits. not surprisingly, "back to basics" barely limped into the uk top twenty not too long ago, a depressing showing after lola's month atop the charts.

but its swirling strings, chugging bassline, uplifting lyrics and belt-it-out delivery cry out for another listen. and another. and another. if you've ever taken anything or anyone for granted, this one is for you.

oh, so long together,
forgot how you make me feel,
tired of each other, we drifted further afield,
but there was nothing out there for me,
i realized that you're all i needed.

now that i've got these thoughts
i don't know what i did before
you made my life so special.
everything that i look for
you give it to me with much more.
that's why i could never let you go.
no!

bring it back to basics,
you and i will make it right.
let's get to back to basics,
bring to back, back to basics.

i couldn't remember
just what made me fall for you,
searching for others to make me feel all new,
but everytime i felt that feeling,
i knew it wasn't what i needed.

cos when i got you all
i'm better than i was before
you made my life so special.
everything that i could want
you give it to me every part.
that's why i could never let you go.
no!

bring it back to basics,
you and i will make it right.
take it back, erase it,
you and i will make it right.

bring it back to basics,
you and i will make it right.
let's get back to basics,
bring it back, back to basics.

-finn

Previously:
Shiny Happy Person (or Something Like That) - 2005-08-19
Having Trouble Saying What I Mean With Dead Poets and a Drum Machine - 2005-08-14
Let's Rock! - 2005-07-27
Knock Me Right Off My Feet - 2005-07-22
Play or You'll Never Know - 2005-07-14