To Sir, With Love
2004-03-12

sometime in 1997, i went to the supermarket. of course, i must have gone to the supermarket many times in my 27th year, but this one time sticks out. you see, i had accompanied my roommate to the safeway. it was an average, every day sort of shopping trip, except for the last bit.

after checking out, the bag boy (i'm sure that this occupation has a more eloquent name in our post-industrial, service economy, but honestly it escapes me) innocently offered help out to our car. in doing so, he referred to my roommate as "ma'am". that's right. ma'am. and he wasn't webster.

the utterance of this one simple word in english sent my roommate into a tizzy about being old. and fairly so, i guess. today, it happened to me. well, not exactly, as no one called me ma'am, though i have several male friends who have been referred to as ma'am over the telephone and one, even, in person.

granted, i was, for me, dressed up (read this as "not wearing a hoodie") but "sir"? i mean really. i just got used to hearing mr. finn without looking over my shoulder for my father.

-mr. finn

Previously:
Shiny Happy Person (or Something Like That) - 2005-08-19
Having Trouble Saying What I Mean With Dead Poets and a Drum Machine - 2005-08-14
Let's Rock! - 2005-07-27
Knock Me Right Off My Feet - 2005-07-22
Play or You'll Never Know - 2005-07-14