It's Not My Time To Go
2003-10-02

this job ends tomorrow. and i'm beginning to feel a touch melancholy about it all. the last several days at klatch, my morning caffeine ritual, have been bittersweet. it has become my cheers, except without the beer and with coffee and muffins, and of course my name isn't norm but they do know it there. my name, that is.

work lately has been mind-numbingly tedious, but it has given us a lot of time to talk and since the beginning of september i've gotten to know some folks even better. i'm going to miss the camaradie and the singularity of purpose. i'm going to miss experiencing this eclectic, interesting, challenging, amusing group of people every day. it has been a boon to my mental health, to feeling connected to something larger, to establising routine and a sense of place after a year of bouncing around aimlessly.

don't worry, i've been letting it go little by little for weeks now. and, of course, there is the little matter of the inheritance, which i still haven't received but is closer than before, though it does seems like every time it gets closer, it gets a tad bit farther away. guess that is just the speed of mississippi playing tricks on me. plus, now that it is fall, all i want is to have some time to myself to get out into the day and breathe it in. this whole being inside when it is gorgeous outside has become rather tiresome. just saying.

-finn


Previously:
Shiny Happy Person (or Something Like That) - 2005-08-19
Having Trouble Saying What I Mean With Dead Poets and a Drum Machine - 2005-08-14
Let's Rock! - 2005-07-27
Knock Me Right Off My Feet - 2005-07-22
Play or You'll Never Know - 2005-07-14