You Can't Escape My Eyes
2004-05-03

calmly observing my surroundings is often the key to catching on to the next big thing.

on a recent non-stop from sfo to jfk, as we awaited latecomers taking their seats, a group of young hipster types spread out over several rows in front of me became transfixed by the video screen. what was the fuss about? hall and oates' "out of touch" video.

talk about prescient, if i don't say so myself.

they began animatedly chatting amongst themselves, singing snippets of other classics by the most successful pop duo of all-time. and in a instant, we were transported magically to welcome to johnson's on the lower east side, where daryl crooned his little heart out while youngsters yipped along between sips of $2 PBRs.

don't roll those eyes. i mean, private eyes. they're watching you. they see your every move. and admit it. you're clapping along. right. now.

-finn

Previously:
Shiny Happy Person (or Something Like That) - 2005-08-19
Having Trouble Saying What I Mean With Dead Poets and a Drum Machine - 2005-08-14
Let's Rock! - 2005-07-27
Knock Me Right Off My Feet - 2005-07-22
Play or You'll Never Know - 2005-07-14