Across The Pond
2003-10-11

somehow i got it into my head that simply purchasing death cab for cutie's newest long player "transatlanticism", an album with which you just want to curl up and sigh yourself to sleep, would dislodge clarkesville's "the half chapter" from its firm entrenchment in my discman. just one spin of ben and company's aching musings later, mr. clarke's debut disc was back on the heaviest of rotations. not since my purchase of mr. gibbard's side project, the postal service, have ten tracks drilled themselves into my brain and refused to let go so relentlessly.

today is day nine of almost non-stop play. from the electronic noodlings of opener "evergreen", through the stabbing synth of "moonflowers", the swirling pop perfection of "secret file", the arena anthemic "everyone will have their day", the driving insistence of "heavy soul" and the simple grace of "last man standing", to the cinematic sweep of "just kills me", drowning in regret and self-doubt, this one announces the arrival of quite a talent. good times.

don't worry. i'm sure i'll be gushing about death cab soon enough.

-finn

Previously:
Shiny Happy Person (or Something Like That) - 2005-08-19
Having Trouble Saying What I Mean With Dead Poets and a Drum Machine - 2005-08-14
Let's Rock! - 2005-07-27
Knock Me Right Off My Feet - 2005-07-22
Play or You'll Never Know - 2005-07-14